Dr. Trinidad Baldo (September 26, 1938-October 3, 2021)

The UP College of Education is in deep sadness to inform everyone that Dr. Trinidad Baldo (September 26, 1938-October 3, 2021) has joined her Creator due to natural causes. We remember her to be a well-loved professor, mentor and colleague, and one of the pillars of Special Education in the country. In lieu of flowers and cards, her family is requesting prayers and mass offerings.

Rest in peace, Ma’am Trining.

UP CED Participates in TalkTogether Virtual Round Table Discussion on Child-Directed Language Corpora

The UP College of Education participates in the TalkTogether Virtual Round Table Discussion on Child-Directed Language Corpora entitled “Child-Directed Print Corpora: Understanding the Resource.”

Held last June 30 to July 2, 2021, the three-day virtual round table was chaired by esteemed scholars on language and literacy. The objective of the virtual round table was to understand the promise of child-directed print corpora for experimental studies and child language assessment as well as its implications for researchers, practitioners, and curriculum developers.  The first round table was on “Child Language Print Corpora and Child Language Assessment,” which was chaired by TalkTogether’s Principal Investigator, Sonali Nag  of the University of Oxford. The second, on the topic “Child Language Print Corpora and Experimental Research,” was chaired by Jelena Mirkovic of the York St. John University.  The third day on “Children Language Print Corpora and Children’s Materials”  was chaired by UP College of Education Professor and TalkTogether Co-Investigator, Dina Ocampo.  

TalkTogether is a multi-country project made possible by an award from the UK Research & Innovation Global Challenges Research Fund (UKRI-GCRF Collective Fund). The wider aim of the project is to develop contextualized early years interventions to support oral language development, and thereby boost children’s literacy learning trajectories.

The Philippine team of TalkTogether is composed of faculty and researchers from the UP College of Education Reading, Early Grades, Art, and Language Education (REGALE) cluster, UP College of Social Sciences and Philosophy Department of Linguistics, UP College of Arts and Letters Department of Filipino and Philippine Literature, UP College of Allied Medical Professions, and UP Center for Integrative and Development Studies-Education Research Program. They co-authored and presented papers on child-directed corpora as bases for analyzing cross-linguistic lexical properties, morphological analysis, age-of-acquisition ratings, as well as book levelling and text complexity in Filipino and Kannada. Paper authors were Portia Padilla, Leonor Diaz, Marie Yvette Concepcion-Alcazar, Maria Hazelle Preclaro-Ongtengco, Marie Grace Reoperez, Crizel Sicat-De Laza, Eva Haydee Alipustain, Margaret Mary Rosary Carmel Fua, Mary Ann Bacolod, Jem Javier, April Perez, Francisco Rosario Jr, Jocelyn Marzan, Junette Fatima Gonzales, Kathrina Lorraine Lucasan, and Dina Ocampo.

Researchers from the University of Oxford, The Promise Foundation, Manipal Academy of Higher Education, University of Wisconsin-Madison, University Sains Malaysia, Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics – Netherlands, University of Toronto-Ontario, Macquarie University, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, and University of Manchester also presented their research and facilitated discussions that followed each paper presentation.

The TalkTogether team released a public video playlist of the round table discussions through the official website of the project

Presenters, co-chairs and discussants at the TalkTogether Virtual Round Table Event held last June 30 – July 2, 2021. (From top L-R) Dr. Portia Padilla of the College of Education, UP Diliman, Dr. Mary Ann Bacolod of the Department of Linguistics, UP DIliman, Dr. Jocelyn Marzan of the Department of Speech Pathology, UP Manila, Dr. Jelena Mirkovic of York St John University, Dr. Sonali Nag of the University of Oxford, Dr. Dina Ocampo of ERP – UPCIDS and College of Education, UP Diliman, Dr. Shelley Stagg Peterson of the University of Toronto-Ontario, Dr. Rauno Parrila of the Macquarie University, and Dr. Elena Lieven of the University of Manchester.

ASEAN University Startup Bootcamp

Chulalongkorn University and the AUN University Innovation and Enterprise (AUN-UIE) are glad to invite the AUN Member Universities to join an international startup network! ASEAN University Startup Bootcamp.
📣ASEAN University Startup Bootcamp is a project that brings together a group of creative and passionate undergraduates from all over the ASEAN +3 region who are interested in starting startups and aspired to become new-gen entrepreneurs. Through intensive 3 weeks of FREE online training and workshops, participants will have the opportunity to practice and learn all about startup essentials. Mentors and experts are provided here to share experiences and give consultations.

Furthermore, participants may get inspiration and a new point of view from the startup networking activities with ASEAN international students.

🚨Apply now – 27 June 2021 (GMT+7)
🌈 Requirements

  1. Participant must be a current student with a Bachelor degree from ASEAN +3 region
  2. Interest and Intend to be an entrepreneur in startups
    🌈 How to apply
  3. Scan QR code on the poster or fill this form
  4. Self-introduction video (max length 5 mins) must include the contents,
  • personal introduction
  • your strength and weakness
  • why are you applying for this program
    For submission guidelines and more information, please contact
    💫 Facebook: ASEAN University Startup Summer Bootcamp 2021

Infographics on Remote Learning for Students Set 1

Here are some infographics on remote learning that may help our students imagine what the incoming first semester will look like. The infographics aim to clarify to students what remote learning is and assure them that our preparations are inclusive and have their best interests in mind.

This is the first of at least 3 sets of resources that the UPD Committee on Remote Learning is preparing.