November 9, 2016

We, members of the UP College of Education faculty, express our deepest dismay and concern over the Supreme Court’s decision allowing the interment of the remains of the dictator Ferdinand Marcos at the Libingan ng mga Bayani (LNMB).

Burying a tyrant alongside our fallen heroes is an affront to our collective history as a nation. It is an assault on the dignity of the millions of Filipinos who suffered under martial rule.

We do our students a great disservice should we choose to stay silent and accept a decision that effectively devalues the atrocities of the Marcos regime and distorts the definition of “heroism”.

We, therefore, stand with the five dissenting SC justices: Chief Justice Sereno, Justice Leonen, Justice Carpio, Justice Jardeleza, and Justice Caguioa. With them, we stand against impunity and the deliberate attempt to revise our history. We continuously strive to make the abuses and injustices of the Marcos dictatorship forever remembered and never forgotten nor repeated.


Dean Marie Therese A.P. Bustos

Abaya, Eufracio C.
Alcazar, Marie Yvette C.
Almazan, Romina B.
Arzadon, Maria Mercedes E.
Calingasan, Lorina, Y.
Canuto, Abigail Thea O.
Cauyan, Jaclyn Marie L.
Diaz, Leonor E.
Duka-Pante, Francis Grace H.
Echavia, Darlene D.
Gomez, Marie Grace A.
Javiniar, Joel C.
Joaquin, Nympha B.
Lucman, Sharehann T.
Magtoto, Frances Olivia M.
Metila, Romylyn A.
Muega, Michael Arthus G.
Nava, Fe Josefa G.
Olegario, Lizamarie C.
Paderna, Edwehna Elinore S.
Pedrajita, Jose Q.
Preclaro-Ongtengco, Maria Hazelle R.
Que, Elenita N.
Reoperez, Marie Grace C.
Salvador, Ana Maria Margarita S.
Tantengco, Myra T.
Yangco, Rosanelia, T.
Zamora, Maria Cecilia V.

Educ Statement as of Nov 11.1